Tuesday, June 17, 2008

Surgery 61

Erik Enockson
- Farväl Falkenberg (Kning Disk)
Animal Collective - Water Curses (Domino)
Ueno - Sui-Gin (Room40)
Trapist - Highway My Friend (hatOLOGY)
Peter Broderick - Float (Type)
Stars Of The Lid - Carte-De-Visite (Tour CD)
Leighton Craig - 11 Easy Pieces (Room40)
Sebastien Roux - Revers Ouest (Room40)
Preslav Literary School - Pretext/Context (GFDM)
Nicola Ratti - From The Desert Came Saltwater (Anticipate)
Lost In Hildurness - Mount A (12 Tonar)
Yoshi Wada - The Appointed Cloud (EM)

Track Listing

Erik Enockson - The Breaking Of Waves [00:00]
Animal Collective - Seal Eyeing [04:40]
Ueno - 08 [08:11]
Trapist - Mine Was The Shoulder You Cried On That Day [12:05]
Peter Broderick - An Ending [16:18]
Stars Of The Lid - Hunting For Pops [20:36]
Leighton Craig - The Last Easy Piece [25:50]
Sebastien Roux - part 1 [28:51]
Preslav Literary School - Track 03 [37:39]
Nicola Ratti - Voluta Musica [44:36]
Lost In Hildurness - Reflection [50:37]
Yoshi Wada - The Appointed Cloud {(very brief)excerpt}[57:59]

Listen to Surgery 61 click here

Tuesday, June 03, 2008

Surgery 60

This is a slightly different show. I've been waiting for a few new releases to do my usual "all new" format of shows, but I grew impatient and so thought I'd dip back into the collection to do this show while I waited. Essentially I was trying to hit a balance of tracks that feature digital/analog, lyrical song/instrumental, electric/acoustic blend. Basically the places where the tipping point where more traditional and experimental music meets. I'm not sure this worked... I have to listen back to it a few more times myself... but it was late and I wanted to finish and so.... In my haste to finish I neglected to mark the track starts... but it should be a little easier than usual to spot them. Enjoy.

Nagisa Ni Te - The Same As a Flower (Secretly Canadian)
Loscil - First Narrows (Kranky)
LaZarus - Songs For An Unborn Sun (Temporary Residence)
So - S/T (Thrill Jockey)
Molasses - Trouble At Jinx Hotel (Alien8)
Philip Jeck & Janek Schaefer - Songs For Europe (Asphodel)
Palace Brothers - Days In The Wake (Drag City)
Various - Hmm (Sprawl)
Joan Of Arc - Presents Guitar Duets (Record Label)
Komet - Gold (Raster-Noton)
Flying Saucer Attack - New Lands (Drag City)

Track Listing

Nagisa Ni Te - River
Loscil - Sickbay
LaZarus - Born A Friendship
So - Untitled B
Molasses - Trouble In Mind
Philip Jeck & Janek Schaefer - Lullaby Duel
Palace Brothers - No More Workhorse Blues
David Toop - Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence
Joan of Arc - Tim Rutili & Sam Zurick
Komet - Wheel
Flying Saucer Attack - Forever

Listen to Surgery 60 click here